Guest
Reviews
Guest Reviews

Don’t just take our word for it: find out what your fellow guests are saying about their stay at the Doubletree by Hilton San Juan.

View actual guest reviews, collected from major travel review websites, right here.

Reviews From Yelp

Yahoo!

“Staff was very friendly and accommodating”

Chasity L. Newark, NJ 5/26/2015

I enjoyed my stay here. Centrally located. Walking distance to the beach and if you get a chance, try Bebo's Cafe around the corner. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this place for a clean and affordable room.

“They make me feel welcome and as part of the family”

Francesca M. Mansfield, TX 4/20/2015

I stayed one night at Caribe Hilton and I had a lot of issues there, so I decided to move to Doubletree Hotel. It was a great choice. I have to work and stay in Puerto Rico for 5 weeks, and the hotel stuff is making my life so easy! They make me feel welcome and as part of the family. I have to deal with shifts due to my work schedule and all of them are great!  
I wanted to change rooms due to personal choice, and Caroline the manager made the switch very easy without any hesitation or need for further explanation.
The location is great and safe. I walk around exploring new restaurants there all the time without issues.
The 24/7 supermarket is across the street.
The breakfast is in the hotel is Also good.

I Love that They provide a 5 mins ride to the beach where you find chairs umbrella and towels available also.

I travel a lot and this hotel has been my favorite so far due to mostly to the great staff that keeps a clean and nice and happy environment for all!

“I don't know how you can give this hotel anything less than 5 stars”

Kia M. Nottingham, MD 3/8/2015

The staff was AMAZING during my stay. As soon as I checked in, I was greeted by the guys working outside and then by the front desk staff... Peter was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. He recommended things we could do that night, since I was there to celebrate my bday. 
After the first night, I realized I wanted to change my room. There wasn't anything necessarily wrong with the room. Yes, the bed was comfy and the room was very clean. My issues was one of personal preference. The room I was assigned was handicap accessible and I preferred a standard room, as I didn't like the open shower concept (the bathroom floor gets soaked). I went to the front desk, spoke with Courtney and with one click of a button, she made the switch. She told me to pack my things and she would have housekeeping make the transfer. After packing up my luggage, I went back to the front desk to bother Courtney again. She gave me directions for commuting to old San Juan via bus (T5 @ .75) and looked up vegan restaurants online for me. Courtney was really cool and friendly!!!!  Also, while discussing staff, I can't forget Antonio. He is very friendly, helpful and funny.. Honestly the entire staff at this hotel is EXCEPTIONAL. I didn't get everyone's name but everyone was GREAT! 
 
This hotel is centrally located. Staying here, puts you in walking distance to the beach and many cool restaurants.  Almost everyday of my stay, I walked down to Avenida Ashford. There's loads of things to do in that area... FRESHMART was my favorite place to eat in that area. 
(Psst.. There is a 24hr market across the street from the hotel).

The only place I ate at on the hotel grounds was the Pizza joint. It was fair.. The concept is cool but it seems the pizza lacks flavor.. But who travels to PR for pizza.. MONFONGO MONFONGO!!! 

I don't know how you can give this hotel anything less than 5 stars.. Reading through the other reviews, people complained about the distance to the beach (2minutes by golf cart), the amount of water in the toilet (REALLY), cab fare and that pesky resort fee... None of those complaints should directly impact the hotel rating. If you do research about the hotel before booking, you will be fully aware of the distance to the beach and of the resort fee... The cab fare pretty much "is what it is". I don't think the hotel has anything to do with that and I honestly would suggest taking the bus or walking. Now as far as the amount of water in the toilet, sure there wasn't gallons of wasted water in the toilet but every time I flushed, it went down!!!

Come and stay here of you come to Condado

Adrian S. Upper Marlboro, MD 2/13/2015

Clean, modern hotel, friendly staff, 3 blocks to the beach with a shuttle if you need it, chairs and towels for hotel beachgoers, 24 hour supermarket across the street, highly rated restaurants within a block. Come and stay here of you come to Condado. $18 taxi from airport

I would definitely stay here again

Fiona R. Centreville, VA 2/10/2015

We decided to stay here after seeing decent reviews and it being a reasonable price. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. They had a pool, gym, and business center. The Cafe Pierre bar was great for breakfast. We loved the jamon, queso, y chorizo sandwiches. We went back to the bar multiple times during our week stay. 

On top of that, they had a great location with a supermarket across the street, the beach five minutes away walking, various restaurants around the corner, a car rental place next door, and the bus stop a minute away walking. 

I would definitely stay here again, if not for the actual hotel but for there delicious cookies they give you whenever you want.

Reviews From TripAdvisor

Tripadvisor

More than a yummy cookie....

Heidi Ann S 2015-08-12

I had planned a trip to stay in a different place in San Juan PR but last minute decided to add more days. I decided to book two nights at the Doubletree in San Juan and ended up extending my stay for a week. What was intended to be a quick visit ended up being a memorable stay. Location, Comfort, Cleanliness and Quality are fundamental, but it is their friendly and efficient staff that sets them apart from other hotels. Antonio greeted and helped me with my luggage.He was friendly, funny, courteous and knowledgeable about the hotel amenities, restaurant as well as things to do in the area. He mentioned that the hotel pool was opened 24/7, which is great, especially when many hotel guests, like me, are busy during the day and the only time left to decompress is at night, sometimes a little bit too late at night. Another member of the staff that I met and thought was lovely was Britney. She always greeted me with a big, genuine, beautiful smile. Some things can be taught and trained but genuine friendliness is a quality that can't be taught and that she surely possess. 

I found interesting that everyone is hands on deck. In one occasion I had lost my room key and the front desk staff were all busy taking care of other guests, I didn't have to wait a minute when the hotel general manager (Yodil Caban) appeared and assisted cutting the key for me. I was impressed to see a GM rollup his sleeves without hesitating. 

The hotel is two or three blocks away from the beach, it is right across the street from a supermarket which remains opened 24/7, and is walking distance to the city's Contemporary Art Museum. There is a Starbucks and some other restaurants only a few steps away from the hotel as well as a few lounges and bars. I felt comfortable and safe walking outside during both day and night. The rooms are clean, modern and soundproof.

I look forward visiting San Juan, and without a doubt will be staying at the Double Tree hotel and enjoying more of all of what they have to offer.

TripAdvisor traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars

“A lovely stay”

Lois H Rosendale, United States 2015-08-08

This is the second time I have stayed at the Doubletree in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It is just perfect with a lovely beach a short few blocks away- nice comfortable room and great amenities. I will be staying here again!

TripAdvisor traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars

Good Value

Brian G Huntington Beach, United States 2015-08-09

I recently stayed at the Double Tree hotel in San Juan Puerto Rico. I was there for a few days on business. I was impressed with the value for the money at this hotel. The breakfast that was included was much better than those that are typically included at no additional cost. There was an omelet bar and quite a few selections of hot and cold food. The room was very nice, and the hotel staff were quite attentive. I recommend this hotel for the business or leisure traveler.

TripAdvisor traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars

Best experience

Lee-Ann C 2015-08-08

We went to PR for four days before our cruise as a mini vacation for my husbands 50th birthday we had a blast the staff at the double tree displayed excellent customer service...the young men that worked in the valet dept were wonderful given directions and suggestions on food and areas of PR to visit....the room was clean and very comfortable...thanks for a great time

TripAdvisor traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars

Great Choice

jory m Perth, Australia 2015-08-06

Spent a week in San Juan and after staying in a much more expensive hotel on the beachfront moved to the Doubletree.
Smart move, from the friendly staff 100% all the time to the beautiful pool and general relaxing stay, couldn't have been happier...

TripAdvisor traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars

Close